Replacing building option lists at drawing level

You are here

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
DamonB
DamonB's picture
Replacing building option lists at drawing level

Ok,

So I need to replace the building option list for a few projects at a drawing level so they match system level as i created the models, then the option list at system level. Now tech support suggested I could possibly delete the project file and it would regenerate itself from system options. That actually worked perfectly however he also did warn me that it would affect my section cut lines and other things he was not sure of. So what else is contained within this file to be aware of before I mess with this.

 

Thanks

Bill Wimberley
Bill Wimberley's picture
Replacing building option lists at drawing level

Damon, there are 3 tutorials that discuss Projects. You can find them by following this link Projects.

One common misconception is that there is a Drawing Level and a System Level Building Options. Building Options affect All drawings within the same folder and they are not saved in the drawings themselves like Drawing Options are. They are saved in a separate file. In earlier versions they were saved in the buildingOps.spo file. In v2012 they are saved in the Project file. So if you wanted to reset the Building Options for a set of drawings you would delete these files.

Basically, the Project file saves all of the settings that pertain to a Project. In SoftPlan a Project is a collection of related drawings. So for instance all of the drawings related to a particular house would constitute a Project.

In earlier versions of SoftPlan all of these settings were saved in various separate files. v2012 combines all these files into one single portable file. So the Project file keeps track of things like your drawing stack, what tabs you have open, current materials assignments for SoftView, How you have your drawings sorted in the Navigation pane, Building Options, Project contact information, etc.

Deleting the Project file will not affect anything in any of your drawings. It will only affect all of the settings that are saved in the Project file. If you then open any of the drawing files in that folder a new Project file will be created based on your current System Options.

Important--One thing to keep in mind is that if the folder that contains the drawing files also contains all of the old setting files from a previous version of SoftPlan then those settings will be brought into the Project file. For instance if your drawings were originally created in V14 you could have files remaining in the folder named batchPrint.sbp, buildingOps.spo, floorstack.spb, and tempfloorstack.spb. These files contain various settings that were in effect when working with the drawings in V14. If you have these files present in the folder then these settings will override the System Options when SoftPlan creates a new Project file. In order to get a completely clean Project file based entirely on your current System Options settings you will need to first delete all of these old settings files if they are present.

Bill is the owner and maintainer of SoftPlanTuts.com

DamonB
DamonB's picture
Replacing building option lists at drawing level

Bill

Its funny that there is only one project level building options but still you can have them not match depending on the order you build things.

I read in the Softplan book about projects and your explanation seems much more concise and much longer.

 

Thanks

Bill Wimberley
Bill Wimberley's picture
Replacing building option lists at drawing level

Its funny that there is only one project level building options but still you can have them not match depending on the order you build things.

Damon, can you elaborate on what you mean?

DamonB
DamonB's picture
Replacing building option lists at drawing level

Bill

I had drawn a base house design before doing building options. Then in system options I labeled all my options. When I went into my drawing to use the options they did not reflect what I set up in system options. That is why I deleted the project file. It made them match up.

Bill Wimberley
Bill Wimberley's picture
Replacing building option lists at drawing level

Building Options are very much like Layers. The main difference is that Layers are a "Per Drawing" option and Building Options are a "Per Project" option. That is why when you edit the Drawing Options for a drawing you see a Layer Setup but no Building Options.

Building Options are a sort of Super Layer. You can have objects in multiple drawings set to be associated with a certain Building Option. Then when you go into Building Options for the Project and change the color or visibility settings it affects the colors and visibility of all drawings in the Project. The items in the actual drawing remains unchanged. What changes is the visibility of the objects within the project.

The names associated with Building Options don't really matter. They are just for your reference. It is the unsorted position within the list that SoftPlan looks at. So you could for instance have your System Options Building Options position 4 labeled "Elevation A" and you could have a Project with position 5 labeled "Elevation A". If you had all of your drawings in the project referencing the Project "Elevation A" (position 5) and you deleted the Project file then the new Project file that is automatically created will bring in its "Elevation A" label set at the 4th position. But all of your drawings will still be referencing the position 5 Building Option and thus will not be associated with "Elevation A" anymore. They will be associated with whatever label is at the position 5 location.

Does any of that make sense?

 

DamonB
DamonB's picture
Replacing building option lists at drawing level

Bill that makes sense. Hopefully there will be better ways to manage this in the future.

 

Thanks,