2014+ Copying Projects Problem and Temporary Workaround

You are here

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
Bill Wimberley
Bill Wimberley's picture
2014+ Copying Projects Problem and Temporary Workaround
SoftPlan Version:
2014 Plus

I discovered a problem with the SoftPlan 2014+ Cloud yesterday and the problem was confirmed by Tech today. At the time they didn't have a solution but I came up with one. Since this is a cloud issue this only affects 2014+, not 2014 or other versions.

The problem arises when you make a copy of a Project. Say for instance you have a plan that you use over and over. Typically you would make a copy of the entire Project and rename both the folder and the Project file of the copy to reflect that this is not the base plan. For instance you might rename the folder and Project file to match the name of the customer who will be buying the house.

What appears to be happening, and this was confirmed by Tech today and they were not aware of it before, is that the cloud looks at an internal name or number within the Project file rather than the name of the Project file. So even though you may have renamed the Project file the cloud thinks both the original Project and the copy are one in the same because they both have the same internal identification. If you send one version to the cloud both versions get a green dot as if you had uploaded both Projects. If you were to open one version and make a change and upload it to the cloud then open the other version and download from from the cloud, thinking that you are updating the currently open Project, you are actually downloading the files from the previous version which you had uploaded. Not a good thing because even though they are two separate Projects SoftPlan+ cloud is treating them as one and you could overwrite files or lose changes.

My solution, until when or if this is corrected, is to Save a Revision of the Project instead of making a copy of the Project. This is done by opening the Project and selecting File⇒Save⇒Save Project Revision. This saves an exact copy of the Project inside of a folder named REVISIONS within the current Project. You can then move the folder from within the REVISIONS folder to a new location and rename the folder and the Project file to the desired new name and the Cloud recognizes this as a new Project rather than as the same Project.

This solution is only necessary if you are uploading your Projects to the cloud. If not then making a copy of the Project works fine.

Bill is the owner and maintainer of SoftPlanTuts.com

cbe
cbe's picture
Thanks for the tip!

Thanks for the tip!

If the only issue is the cloud, then I am fine.  I am still using Dropbox for all my plans b/c I need to sync more than just the softplan files b/t computers (pics, reference docs, pdfs, etc).  However, I guess I should start using your 'revision' method just in case b/c ALL of my plans are a copy from one of a few templates I setup.

 

- Cory

Bill Wimberley
Bill Wimberley's picture
Revision

Cory, as far as I know the only issue is with the cloud. I first noticed this when I had made a couple copies of a plan and then sent the original to the cloud. All of the copies lit up with the green dots, not just the one I had sent to the cloud. I'm glad I discovered this before it became a huge problem. I was in the beginning phase of converting a bunch of plans to 2014 and replacing Multi-Drawings with Plan Sets.

Bill Wimberley
Bill Wimberley's picture
Save Project Revision

I created a short video showing how to use Save Project Revision to make a copy of your Projects. Using this method will prevent the Cloud from thinking that the original and the copy are both the same project.

Save Project Revision